SIA Chew new IATA chairman

By: | at 08:00 PM | Air Cargo  

The International Air Transport Association (IATA) announced that Singapore Airlines’ Chief Executive Officer, Chew Choon Seng, began his one year term as the chairman of the association’s Board of Governors for 2006-7 with the close of the 62nd Annual General Meeting in Paris recently. Chew succeeds Robert Milton, Chairman of Air Canada.

‘Air transport continues to face many challenges. I look forward to the coming year as an opportunity to work with the IATA team to push for much needed change across the industry,’ said Chew. ‘Change begins at home and the first priorities will be successfully moving forward with the IATA Operational Safety Audit and Simplifying the Business. At the same time, I look forward to working with Giovanni to shout politely for greater efficiency from our partners and more commercial freedom from governments.’

Giovanni Bisignani, IATA’s Director General and CEO said, ‘First, we must thank Robert for his leadership and support over the last year and for a job well-done. I am confident that Choon Seng will bring a new perspective to the role of Chairman while continuing the drive for change across the industry. The agenda is full, but I am confident that together we will continue to deliver the important results that the industry needs.’


Gerard Arpey - AMERICAN AIRLINES, Khaled A. Ben-Bakr - SAUDI ARABIAN AIRLINES, David Bronczek - FEDEX EXPRESS, Philip Chen - CATHAY PACIFIC, Chew Choon Seng - SINGAPORE AIRLINES, Yang Ho Cho - KOREAN AIR, Fernando Conte - IBERIA, Enrique Cueto - LAN AIRLINES, Geoff Dixon - QANTAS, Naresh Goyal - JET AIRWAYS, Gerald Grinstein - DELTA AIR LINES, Pedro Heilbron - COPA AIRLINES, Jorgen Lindegaard - SAS, Liu Shaoyong - CHINA SOUTHERN AIRLINES, Samer A. Majali - ROYAL JORDANIAN, Wolfgang Mayrhuber - LUFTHANSA, Robert Milton - AIR CANADA, Atef Abdel Hamid Mostafa - EGYPTAIR, Titus Naikuni - KENYA AIRWAYS, Valery M. Okulov - AEROFLOT, Fernando Pinto - TAP PORTUGAL, Nelson Ramiz - AEROPOSTAL ALAS DE VENEZUELA, Toshiyuki Shinmachi - JAPAN AIRLINES, Jean-Cyril Spinetta - AIR FRANCE, Douglas Steenland - NORTHWEST AIRLINES, Glenn F. Tilton - UNITED AIRLINES, Leo M. van Wijk - KLM ROYAL DUTCH AIRLINES, Girma Wake - ETHIOPIAN AIRLINES, Willie Walsh - BRITISH AIRWAYS,


2004-2005 Jean-Cyril Spinetta, Air France

2002-2005 Isao Kaneko, Japan Airlines

2001-2002 Xabier de Irala, Iberia

2000-2001 Leo F. Mullen, Delta Air Lines

1999-2000 James Strong, QANTAS


Be the first to comment on this article!

To avoid Spammers, we ask that you log in using your account. Free accounts have access to commenting.

Did you forget your password?

It happens...