Transportation unions applaud confirmation of Hersman as NTSB Chair

By: | at 08:00 PM | Intermodal  

Edward Wytkind, President of the Transportation Trades Department, AFL-CIO, issued the following statement in reaction to Senate confirmation of Deborah Hersman to be reappointed to and named Chair of the National Transportation Safety Board: “Transportation unions are pleased the Senate has confirmed Deborah Hersman to lead the National Transportation Safety Board. Hersman is deeply committed to the safety mission of this agency and has demonstrated her passion to learn from accident investigations and advocate federal safety policies that make the US transportation system safer. And rather than simply assigning blame to individuals, she investigates the policies, procedures and practices that threaten safe operations. “Ms. Hersman has always understood that well trained front-line workers play a critical role in moving goods and people safely across our vast transportation network. We applaud Hersman’s confirmation and look forward to working with her to advance transportation safety.” (AFL-CIO)


Be the first to comment on this article!

To avoid Spammers, we ask that you log in using your account. Free accounts have access to commenting.

Did you forget your password?

It happens...