Transportation service providers recognized for outstanding performance, on-time service

Frisco, TX – Transplace, a leading provider of transportation management services and logistics technology, today announced the winners of its annual Carrier of the Year Awards. Based on over 20 million annual shipments across more than 300 customers in Transplace’s Transportation Management System (TMS) and freight network, the Carrier of the Year Awards recognize transportation service providers for consistent high performance in shipment execution areas, such as tender acceptance, on-time service, claims and other critical KPIs.

“Strong carrier relationships are critical to Transplace’s ability to deliver outstanding service to our customers, so it is important for us to recognize those that consistently provide exemplary service,” said Frank McGuigan, president and chief operating officer, Transplace. “With this year’s awards, we are pleased to recognize carriers that represent the top one percent of our carrier base across all lines of business for the outstanding work they’ve done over the past year, and for their strong, collaborative relationships with Transplace and our customers.”

Recognizing 19 transportation service providers in the categories of truckload, less-than-truckload (LTL), flatbed, private fleet, dedicated, refrigerated and expedite Transplace made the announcement during its Carrier Symposium held in Northwest Arkansas this week. At the event, Transplace presented awards to these carriers in the following categories:

  • National Truckload Carrier of the Year: Crete Carrier Corporation, Western Express
  • Regional Truckload Carrier of the Year: TRIWAYS, Inc., French Trucking
  • Temperature Controlled Carrier of the Year: Marten Transport
  • Bulk Carrier of the Year: Superior Bulk Logistics
  • Flatbed Carrier of the Year: Mercer Transportation
  • Private Fleet Carrier of the Year Award: Ashley Furniture
  • Dedicated Fleet Carrier of the Year Award: Schneider National
  • Capacity Services Truckload Carrier of the Year Award: CalArk
  • National LTL Carrier of the Year: Old Dominion Freight Lines, FedEx Freight
  • Regional LTL Carrier of the Year: Southeastern Freight Lines, USF Holland
  • Expedite Carrier of the Year Award: Direct Drive Express
  • Reefer LTL Carrier of the Year Award: Witte Brothers Exchange

“Selection for these awards varies slightly by transportation mode but all selections are objective and based on companywide, quantitative data as well as survey feedback from Transplace account teams,” said Ben Cubitt, senior vice president, procurement & engineering for Transplace. “Specific areas of emphasis in the selection process include: on-time service, tender acceptance, claims, SmartWay score, and ease of doing business factors such as customer service, responsiveness, and the accuracy and timeliness of invoicing and status updates.”