The United Seamen’s Service (USS) 2018 Admiral of the Ocean Sea Awards (AOTOS) will be presented to Salvador Bruno, President and CEO of Hapag-Lloyd USA; Paul Doell, National President of American Maritime Officers and Raymond F. Fitzgerald, Chairman of the ARC Group, one of the leading U.S. Flag transportation and logistics enterprises. The American maritime industry’s most prestigious award will be presented at the 49th annual gala at the Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, New York City, on November 2, 2018. During this event, American seafarers will receive recognition for their specific acts of bravery and heroism while at sea.

In announcing the recipients, Lieutenant General Kenneth Wykle, USA, (Ret.), AOTOS Committee Chairman, said: “The U. S. maritime industry is fortunate to have such outstanding leaders who continue to make significant contributions to the U. S. flag fleet and are deserving of the AOTOS Award. Tony Bruno has devoted his entire career to operating American liner services. Paul Doell has made a lifelong commitment to maritime labor. Ray Fitzgerald has 35 years in ship management and focuses on innovation in our industry. “ He added, “USS is proud to recognize their collective accomplishments.”
Salvador “Tony” Bruno began his career with Waterman Steamship Corporation (thereafter Delta Steamship) in Chicago, Illinois in 1972. In December of 1975 he joined Lykes Brothers Steamship Company as Sales Manager and over the next 21 years he filled senior management positions in corporate headquarters, New Orleans, as well as St. Louis, Baltimore and Miami.
After Canadian Pacific (CP Ships) acquired Lykes Lines in 1997, Bruno was named Senior Vice President-Commercial, with overall responsibility for Trade Management in the North Atlantic and Mediterranean. In 2006 the CP Ships container shipping business was merged into Hapag-Lloyd AG and Bruno was appointed as Sr. Vice President in Genoa, Italy; where he managed operations in 26 countries in the Eastern Mediterranean, Black Sea and North Africa.
Bruno joined Hapag-Lloyd USA, LLC in 2015 as President and CEO. He also serves on the U.S. Transportation Command Joint Planning Advisory Group (JPAG) as a representative for Hapag-Lloyd USA, LLC.
Paul Doell was elected National President of American Maritime Officers — an affiliate of the Seafarers International Union of North America —in December 2014. Doell began his AMO career in November 1972 at the union’s headquarters in Brooklyn. He has a lifelong link to American Maritime Officers. His father, Ray Doell, was a founding member of the Brotherhood of Marine Engineers, the union that evolved into AMO.
Early in his career, he spent much of his time in the AMO Great Lakes homeport of Toledo, OH. He served as the union’s liaison to media outlets in the eight-state Great Lakes region, assisted with organizing drives, worked in local political campaigns and walked picket lines in support of striking unions active in the Toledo Port Council of the AFL-CIO Maritime Trades Department.
He served eight years as the union’s Legislative Director in Washington DC, where he worked with key figures in both political parties to promote the privately owned and operated U.S. flag merchant fleet to sustain jobs for civilian American merchant mariners in domestic and international trades. He was active in maritime industry-labor coalitions defending the Jones Act, the Maritime Security Program, the PL-480 “Food for Peace” program and the U.S.-flag cargo preference laws.
Raymond F. Fitzgerald is President and COO of Wallenius Wilhelmsen Solutions, the global Logistics unit of Wallenius Wilhelmsen ASA. From 2011 through 2016, Fitzgerald was President of WWL’s shipping and logistics activities across the Americas and EMEA. Fitzgerald is also President and Chief Operating Officer of Wallenius Wilhelmsen Solutions Fitzgerald is currently the Chairman of the ARC Group, one of the leading U.S. Flag transportation and logistics enterprises.
He served as President and CEO of ARC Shipping, and COO of its parent company American Shipping and Logistics (ASL), the ARC Group predecessor, from 2007 until 2011. Fitzgerald began his tenure with WWL in 2000. Previously, he spent 13 years with the Crowley Maritime Group of companies, where he held several executive positions. His career in the maritime industry began in New York in 1984.
Fitzgerald also serves as Chairman of the Board of Governors for the Ocean Exchange, a non-profit organization that links innovators and entrepreneurs with global organizations to advance and promote innovations, solutions and cutting-edge technologies that positively impact the environment, local economies and communities around the world.
Proceeds from the AOTOS event benefit USS community services abroad for the U.S. merchant marine, seafarers of all nations, and U.S. government and military overseas. The recipients will share the evening with a group of heroic American seafarers who will be recognized for their bravery at sea.
For AOTOS 2018, Michael Sacco, President of the Seafarers International Union, is Dinner Chairman. F. Anthony Naccarato of American Maritime Officers Service and Joseph Cox will be National Committee Co-Chairmen.