Canada ports group preparing for upturn in global goods movement

By: | at 08:00 PM | Ports & Terminals  

Mr. Tim Heney, President and CEO of the Thunder Bay Port Authority, and newly elected Chair of the Association of Canadian Port Authorities (ACPA) says the Association is working with governments and other stakeholders to ensure that Canada’s National Port System is prepared to handle growing trade as we emerge from the current economic downturn.

“The ACPA has always advocated for a strong National Ports System and it is clear that the current economic downturn presents an opportunity for Canada’s ports and their respective partners to invest in infrastructure and technology to be ready when global trade begins trending upwards,” said Mr. Heney, who was elected Chair of the Association at its 51st Annual Meeting held recently in Prince Rupert, BC.

Mr. Heney said that, “The ACPA has made it a priority to convince governments and other stakeholders of the need to invest in port-related infrastructure and of the necessity to provide the requisite funding for such investment.” Canada depends on trade for more than 40% of its GDP and without the necessary landside links to important supply chains Canada will not be ready to handle global trade and commerce over the long term.

He went on to note that more than 90 percent of Canadian international trade, other than the US, moves by the marine mode. He further added that the Association was most pleased by recent announcements by the federal government for funding of important port-related projects across the country. More investment and more announcements are expected in future.

“This year’s 51st annual conference addressed critical issues like infrastructure capacity, growing trade trends, current economic trends, and more,” added Mr. Heney. He further noted that, “The Association continues to bring the entire marine community together and help unify the marine agenda for the benefit of Canadians.”

Tim Heney, President and CEO, Thunder Bay Port Authority, took over as Chair from Gaétan Boivin, President and CEO, Trois-Rivières Port Authority. Other members of the Executive are Vice- Chair, Brad Madelung, President and CEO, Port Alberni Port Authority; and Treasurer, Ralph Seely, Vice-President Finance, Saint John Port Authority; Corporate Secretary, Tony Boemi, Vice-President, Growth and Development, Montreal Port Authority; and Past Chair, Gaétan Boivin, Trois-Rivieres Port Authority.

Elected Directors are: Sean Hanrahan, President and CEO, St. John’s Port Authority; Alain Bouchard, Chief Executive Officer, Saguenay Port Authority; Bruce Wood, President and CEO, Hamilton Port Authority; Robin Silvester, President and CEO, Vancouver Fraser Port Authority; Ken Browne, President and CEO, Argentia Management Corporation, representing the Associate Members; and Anthony MacGuinness, President and CEO, Atlantic Pilotage Authority, representing the Affiliate Members.

Next year, the Association’s 52nd Annual Meeting and Conference will take place in St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador, from July 31 to August 4, 2010, and will be hosted by the St. John’s Port Authority. (ACPA)


Be the first to comment on this article!

To avoid Spammers, we ask that you log in using your account. Free accounts have access to commenting.

Did you forget your password?

It happens...