FORT SMITH, Ark. - ArcBest℠ (Nasdaq: ARCB), a leading logistics company with creative problem solvers who deliver integrated solutions, is pleased to announce that its less-than-truckload carrier ABF Freight® will send 11 professional drivers to the National Truck Driving Championships.

To qualify for the national competition, drivers must win first place in their class during state competitions. They also must maintain an accident-free driving record for the preceding 12 months.

“At ABF Freight, we have an excellent reputation for safety and security, and these 11 drivers truly exemplify that,” said Tim Thorne, ABF Freight president. “I’m proud of their professionalism, their devotion to safety, and the way they represent ABF Freight and the trucking industry.”

Representing ABF Freight will be: Ed Beins, Nebraska, Straight Truck; Donald Boileau, Connecticut, Twins; James Fabian, Oklahoma, Straight Truck; Toby Fierros, Arizona, Twins; Nate McCarty, Colorado, Straight Truck; Matt Meadows, West Virginia, 3-Axle; Tim Melody, Idaho, Tank; Kelly Russell, New Mexico, Twins; Steve Smalley, Arizona, Flatbed; Tony Spero, Connecticut, Tank; and Todd Wilemon, Mississippi, Flatbed.

At the competition, drivers will undergo a written examination that tests their knowledge of trucking facts, rules, statistics and safety protocols, look for defects as part of their pre-trip inspection, and complete a difficult driving course. Hosted by the American Trucking Associations, the annual event dates to 1937. The National Truck Driving Championships and the affiliated state Truck Driving Championships are considered one of the trucking industry’s largest and most effective safety programs.

“The trucking industry comes together every spring and summer for a series of state truck driving championships culminating in the National Truck Driving Championships,” said ATA President and CEO Chris Spear. “ATA thanks all of the drivers and companies who made the commitment to participate in the competitions and we recognize your dedication to safety.”

The National Truck Driving Championships will be held Aug. 9-12 in Orlando, Florida.