American Road & Transportation Builders Association (ARTBA) President & CEO Dave Bauer released the following statement regarding the Senate Environment & Public Works (EPW) Committee's July 30 approval of a five-year highway reauthorization bill.

“The reports of the death of bipartisanship on Capitol Hill have been greatly exaggerated at least when it comes to transportation policy. 
“Senate Environment & Public Works Committee Chairman Committee Chairman John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Ranking Member Tom Carper (D-Del.), Transportation & Infrastructure Subcommittee Chair Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.) and Subcommittee Ranking Member Ben Cardin (D-Md.) are to be commended for their leadership in working together to produce a proposal that has earned support from both sides of the aisle.

“The Senate proposal represents the first program reauthorization bill in nearly 15 years that would significantly increase federal investment in highway safety and mobility improvements. 
“The committee’s early action is a critical first step in the lengthy legislative process.  It’s also a welcome departure from the series of extensions and years of delay that have plagued the last few surface transportation bills.

“We urge the Senate Commerce, Banking and Finance Committees to take timely action early this fall on their respective policy and financing components of the measure.  Final passage of a bill this year provides a meaningful opportunity for members of Congress and the Trump administration to deliver on the infrastructure investment promise they have been making since the 2016 elections.”