The Women In Trucking Association (WIT) announced today three finalists for the 2024 Distinguished Woman in Logistics Award (DWLA). Sponsored by the Transportation Intermediaries Association (TIA) and Truckstop, the award promotes the achievements of women employed in the North American transportation industry.

Finalists for the 2024 DWLA have demonstrated extraordinary leadership within their company as well as the industry. This year’s finalists are Sherri Garner Brumbaugh, president and CEO, Garner Trucking, Inc; Ramona Hood, president and CEO, FedEx Custom Critical, Inc.; and Sarah Ruffcorn, president, Trinity Logistics.

Sherri Garner Brumbaugh has more than 33 years of experience in the trucking industry, beginning her career at her family-owned and operated truckload carrier in 1991. She became owner of Garner Trucking, Inc. in 2012. This year, Garner celebrates 64 years in the industry.

Garner Brumbaugh has served the industry as a board member for The American Trucking Association, the Ohio Trucking Association, and Indiana Motor Truck Association. She also served on the advisory committee on human trafficking for the Federal Department of Transportation.

Other organizations important to Garner Brumbaugh are her volunteer efforts with the Boy Scouts of America and transporting a truckload of wreaths for Wreaths Across America to her hometown cemetery and Arlington National Cemetery. In 2024, for the eighth consecutive year, Garner Trucking, Inc. was named a Best Fleets to Drive For and recognized as a two-time Hall of Fame recipient.

Ramona Hood is president and CEO of FedEx Custom Critical®. She began her career with FedEx in 1991 in an entry-level position and worked her way up to hold various executive leadership positions at FedEx Custom Critical and FedEx Supply Chain. Hood has been recognized for her excellence in thought leadership, responsibility, and passion-driven results. A few specific recognitions include Crain’s Cleveland 2022 Power 150 list, Business Insider’s powerful women leading top logistics companies in 2021 and service on the Brinker International Board of Directors noting her deep experience in sales, operations, supply chain, marketing, and talent management to promote growth and brand differentiation. Most recently, she was appointed to the Knight Foundation Board of Trustees due to the impact she has made on the Akron-area community as a business leader.

Sarah Ruffcorn, president of Trinity Logistics, a Burris Logistics Company, is responsible for leading a complex people-centric freight solutions company arranging freight for businesses of all sizes.

Ruffcorn joined Trinity Logistics in 2002 following completion of her Bachelor of Arts in Organizational Communications from Western Illinois University. Her natural curiosity and commitment to excellence led to roles with increasing responsibility and leadership. She has continued her education with executive education programs focused on strategy, finance, and leadership including attending the Wharton School of Business. A champion for servant leadership, Ruffcorn has a strong passion for coaching others to help them work at their highest potential.

Ruffcorn currently serves on the Transportation Intermediaries Association (TIA) Board of Directors, TIA’s Women in Logistics Committee, and Tidal Health Medical Partners Board of Directors.

Members of the judging panel include: Brent Hutto, chief relationship officer, Truckstop; Anne Reinke, president and CEO, TIA; Dr. Stephanie S. Ivey, associate dean for research and professor, Herff College of Engineering; Erin Van Zeeland, chief commercial officer/senior vice president and general manager-logistics, Schneider and winner of the 2023 DWLA; and Jennifer Hedrick, president and CEO, WIT.

The award highlights the crucial roles of leading women in the dynamic and influential field of commercial transportation and logistics, which encompasses logistics service providers as well as motor carriers.

The winner of the 2024 award will be announced during the TIA Capital Ideas Conference and Exhibition Thursday, April 11 in Phoenix, AZ.